Skip to content

Sunday January 18th and this week’s reflection

January 18, 2015

So I fell off the band wagon a little this week.  I was wasn’t feeling to great Monday and that just snowballed with my normal lazy personality.  I’ve read the lessons for the week and trying to get back on the horse regarding blogging.

This week I had some bad news which got me reflecting and thinking about my life.  At first the news made me sad and maybe a little upset but then I started thinking about Alexander Graham Bell’s quote.

"When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed-door that we do not see the one which has opened for us.”

I could sulk over the bad news or I could pick up and move forward with the next challenge in life.  Just because I got a little bad news isn’t the end of the world.  If that were true I would have never gotten to where I am today.  The bad news wasn’t failure.  I tried and I wasn’t successful but I learned from the experience.  That’s what’s most important.

Here’s a ‘first world problem’ that I tried to keep in perspective this week.  I cracked the screen on my iPhone last weekend.  Now it’s not the end of the world but a part of me feels that it’s a symbol of more in your life.

How did I make that kind of leap?  I don’t know but it couldn’t be further from the truth.  Breaking the screen on my iPhone was an accident and the bit of bad news isn’t really probably a blessing in disguise.  To often are we willing to think we’re sliding down a hill of despair and getting depressed.

Today I’m looking for the open door in my life.  So what if a window closed in my life.  I close windows intentionally all the time.  So why should this proverbial window a big deal.  It’s not!  I need to focus on the good things in my life and be grateful for the everyday good.  To often we don’t see the good in our lives.  Our brains are trained to see the negative first and then maybe good if we’re lucky.


For something a little different I spoke in my last blog post about buying things that are Made in the USA.  I’ve become more committed to checking labels and looking for everyday items made in the US versus somewhere overseas.  I’m sure there was an eye roll there or 12 but I’m just saying it makes a big difference to our economy if more people would buy domestic/locally made products.

Yesterday’s trip our included me looking for some shower gel.  That’s pretty innocuous right?  Well I was out in Ross because I just can’t help looking through all the closeout deals to see what new thing I probably don’t need.  So I was looking through the show gel and I came across some two different brands that are made here in the US.  From what I’ve read both companies are based and manufactured here in California.

Bottle of bodywash made from olive oil

Olea Organics Body wash

Olea Organics Body Wash is a product line made by Home and Body Company.  The product is company based in Huntington Beach CA and made in Templeton, California.

Home and Body Company is company focused on producing quality products which replace the harsh chemical smells with natural scents.  Creating top quality ingredients coupled with integrity and pride.

H&B Co. believes in conducting business in professional and safe environment with commitment to continuous improvement each day.

Olea Farm is an olive grower specializing in olive oil and products made from olive oil.  Most of their products are food related but they are also taking their product line in a cosmetic direction as well.  They offer a couple different soaps and lotions made from their olives.

Mostly they make olive oil which looks amazing.  Some of their flavors are Basil Blush, Tarragon, Lemon and Kumquat.  They have styles of oil that aren’t flavored but focus on the variety of olive from which the oil is made.

Olea also has a line of balsamic vinegar.  The flavors again sound so delicious.  Flavors posted on their website include  pomegranate, blackberry and cherry.  Along with these delicious flavors there’s a pear champagne vinegar. You can buy gift sets providing a mixture of these flavors.

The Olea orchards are around the Paso Robles area in Central California.  This is about a 3 1/2 hour drive from San Francisco.  The area neighbors the pacific ocean and has many attractions to the area.  The area is home to vineyards, Hearst Castle, Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo and with a beautiful coastal drive, Big Sur.  You could easily spend a weekend in the area enjoying natures beauty.

Oblige by nature logo

Oblige by nature

Obligé by nature is the other shower gel I found.  This company is based in Poway California.  They specialize in facial skin, body and hair care products made from natural products.  This is a family owned company creating cruelty free products.

Their shower gel I found has aloe vera listed as the first ingredient. To me that sounds good.  I know what aloe vera is and it’s not a chemical.  The ingredients are listed out in plain language mostly so that provides a nice level of comfort from a consumer stand point.  The scent of the shower gel is listed as soothing lavender / vanilla.

The bottle called is an eco-friendly shower gel and I can see that since again the ingredients are everyday items.  The color  of the gel is natural.  In a world where our environment is under attack daily eco-friendly products are important.  It’s important in many ways that if you left something out in the elements that mother nature would be able to reclaim it and fold it back into the environment without killing or harming the environment.

Here are are two examples of companies domestically making everyday products.  We should support those companies and others like them.  Check the label and see where something is made.  If you buy one thing this week that is made by someone in the US then that’s one step closer to creating a stable economy and saving those employees jobs.  Then maybe they can go out and they can buy something that is made in the US.  Supporting yet another domestic company and it’s employees.

Don’t forget to comment and let me know what you think.  If you are a company or know of a company that’s making its products here in the US let me know.  The best way to promote Made in the USA is to share it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

The Disorder Of Things

For the Relentless Criticism of All Existing Conditions Since 2010

The Unlikely Coder

{mis}adventures in web_development

Kevin Lavelle

Founder & CEO of Mizzen+Main.

The Hammered Raven

The Life of a Heathen Warrior in the Early Days of the 21st Century

a coffee break with mike

unwind from the grind

And Just a Touch of Crazy

Confessions of a Bipolar Girl

London, Paris, Milan, blah...

Anyone can go by horse or rail, but the absolute best way to travel is by hat!

Finding My Inner Zen

130 days to escape the cubicle; 1 girl; zero plan.

