Skip to content

How do you treat your friends?

June 25, 2014

I am reading the book Just One Thing, developing a Buddha brain one simple practice at a time by Rick Hanson, PHD.  I read the first chapter today and wow does it hits home.  The main question out of the first chapter is “Do you treat yourself like you would treat a friend?”

Many of us don’t treat ourselves nearly as good as we would a friend or even a stranger.  Why don’t we do that for ourselves?  I know I’m guilty of treating others better than I treat myself.  I’ve seen this theme come up a lot though on places like Facebook.

I like the way the book’s chapters are laid out. It’s meant as kind of a workbook.  You can read and process as fast as you want or take it slow and digest each practice it talks about.  Each chapter states the practice like ‘Be For Yourself’.

The first part of the chapter talks about the practice in your standard self-help fashion.  Then it talks about how to apply it in daily life.  It gives you general times and ways that it may apply in your daily life.  Then it tells you how you might apply the practice.

I would recommend the book to those who are looking to person growth and development.  I am finding the book easy to read and apply to my daily life.  It presents the practices in easy to understand terms.  Then gives you specific examples of how to apply the practice.  Check it out!

“When you take good care of yourself, then you have more to offer others, from the people close to you to the whole wide world.”

I’m grateful for …

  1. Catching up with old friends (Myron) that you run into at the grocery.
  2. Old friends (Diane) who are still in your life.
  3. Current friends who will always be in your life (Susan).

I’m curious about…

  1. Being self-employed
  2. Living abroad
  3. How to manage my day better

I’m surprised by

  1. How I treat others better than I do myself.
  2. How it’s so foggy in June.
  3. Why am I hungry an hour after eating lunch.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

The Disorder Of Things

For the Relentless Criticism of All Existing Conditions Since 2010

The Unlikely Coder

{mis}adventures in web_development

Kevin Lavelle

Founder & CEO of Mizzen+Main.

The Hammered Raven

The Life of a Heathen Warrior in the Early Days of the 21st Century

a coffee break with mike

unwind from the grind

And Just a Touch of Crazy

Confessions of a Bipolar Girl

London, Paris, Milan, blah...

Anyone can go by horse or rail, but the absolute best way to travel is by hat!

Finding My Inner Zen

Bitch, be cool. Do you. This is life. Keep figuring it out.

